AAS Committee on the Status of Women 
Issue of May 18, 2007 
eds. Joan Schmelz, Geoffrey Clayton, & Hannah Jang-Condell 
This week's issues: 
1. Hawaii AAS Meeting: Women of Solar Physics (2nd Announcement) 
2. Hawaii AAS Meeting: Sexual Harassment (2nd Announcement) 
3. Mercury 13 
4. More on Moore 
5. Marie Goeppert Mayer Award 
6. How to submit, subscribe, or unsubscribe to AASWOMEN (New!) 
[Eds. note: Please be patient as the AAS switches servers and AASWOMEN 
experiences some adjustment glitches.] 
1. Hawaii AAS Meeting: Women of Solar Physics (2nd Announcement) 
From: Joan Schmelz (jschmelzmemphis.edu) 
CSWA invites those of you who will be attending the AAS meeting in 
Hawaii to a special session on Thursday morning, May 31 at 10 am. The 
consecutive SPD and AAS meetings provide an opportunity to highlight 
women astronomers in the field of solar physics. The session will focus 
on status and science. It will include an introduction and brief history 
of women in solar physics and a snapshot of their current statistics 
within the field. This will be followed by science talks. 
Speakers include: 
-- Women of the Solar Physics Division 
Andrea Dupree (CfA) 
-- Following the Trail of Heavy Ions through the Solar Corona and into 
the Solar Wind 
Shadia Habbal (University of Hawaii) 
-- A Solar Cycle Prediction Puzzle's Possible Explanation? 
Janet Luhmann (UC Berkeley) 
-- Are Inputs to Standard Solar Models Correct? 
Sarbani Basu (Yale University) 
2. Hawaii AAS Meeting: Sexual Harassment (2nd Announcement) 
From: Joan Schmelz (jschmelzmemphis.edu) 
Have you been the victim of sexual harassment? Do you know someone who 
has? What advice would you give to a friend who has had such an 
experience? A CSWA special session at the AAS meeting in Hawaii will 
focus on these issues. The session is scheduled for Thursday afternoon, 
May 31 at 12:45 pm. 
CSWA would like to start this session with a series of personal 
anecdotes from the audience. Would anyone be willing to share a 
harassment experience? If you would like to remain anonymous, you can 
e-mail us an account of the incident and we will read it, or you can ask 
a friend or colleague to read the account for you. We will then solicit 
suggestions from the audience on how an individual might avoid the 
incident altogether, handle it in real time, or deal with the 
consequences once it has happened. We hope to come up with advice that 
we can distribute to a wider audience in future issues of AASWOMEN. 
3. Mercury 13 
From: Andrea Schweitzer [schweitzfrii.com] 
Kudos to University of Wisconsin Oshkosh and to Adler Planetarium for 
giving these women the recognition they deserve! 
Female pilots reached for the stars 
"On Saturday, the 'Mercury 13' women received honorary Doctor of Science 
degrees from the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh at its commencement." 
 "While the Mercury 13 did not get their shot at space -- at least not 
yet -- they refused to let someone else trim their dreams. They fought 
for what they wanted, what they believed in, and spoke out against 
discrimination," said keynote speaker Martha Ackmann, author of "The 
Mercury 13: The Untold Story of Thirteen American Women and the Dream of 
Space Flight." 
"Recognition has been slow in coming, but in recent years the women have 
been honored by the Adler Planetarium, ..." 
4. More on Moore 
From: Karen Kwitter [Karen.B.Kwitterwilliams.edu] 
This is regarding Andrea Schweitzer's submission (5/11) about Sir 
Patrick Moore's apparent misogyny (How Women are Ruining the BBC). Not 
surprisingly, it has long been evident in Moore's own work. In 1992 I 
was asked to review several of his elementary-school-level books for 
Science Books & Films. It was a shock to see how sexist his writing was, 
and upsetting that these books were aimed at young children. I am doubly 
sorry that he has not seen the error of his ways even now. Here is the 
last paragraph from my 1992 review: 
I am sorry to have to report that these books are far from 
gender-neutral. There are a few instances of "boys and girls" and "men 
and women" and "people"; however, in many more instances the author uses 
"men." (I am not even considering absolutely true uses of "men" as in 
discussions of astronauts who have been to the moon, or astronauts 
aboard Skylab.) Whenever hypothetical characters like an astronaut or a 
student are introduced, they are always male. In addition, every 
specific person mentioned is male. Harlow Shapley is mentioned in a 
discussion of Cepheids describing the period-luminosity relation -- 
Henrietta Leavitt is not. The discovery of pulsars is discussed, but 
Jocelyn Bell is not mentioned. The Space Shuttle is described, but Sally 
Ride is not mentioned, nor is Valentina Tereshkova mentioned in the 
discussion of Soviet cosmonauts (though Yuri Gagarin is mentioned 
several times). It is particularly regrettable that this lack of 
appropriate gender-neutrality and omission of important contributions by 
women occurs in books for children. I hope that the author will rectify 
the situation in future editions of these otherwise fine books. 
5. Marie Goeppert Mayer Award 
From: WIPHYS May 14, 2007 
Nominations are being solicited for the Marie Goeppert Mayer Award. The 
purpose of the award is "to recognize and enhance outstanding 
achievement by a woman physicist in the early years of her career, and 
to provide opportunities for her to present these achievements to others 
through public lectures in the spirit of Maria Goeppert Mayer. The award 
consists of $2,500 plus a $4,000 travel allowance to provide 
opportunities for the recipient to give lectures in her field of physics 
at four institutions and at the meeting of the Society at which the 
award is bestowed and a certificate citing the contributions made by the 
recipient. The award will be presented annually." 
The award was established through sponsorship in 1985 by the General 
Electric Foundation (now the GE Fund).  The deadline for submission of 
nominations for the 2008 prize is July 1, 2007. 
Five (5) copies of nominations and supporting documentation for the 2008 
Prize should be sent to the Chair of the 2008 Selection Committee: 
Marc Sher 
College of William & Mary 
Department of Physics 
Williamsburg, VA 23187 
Phone (757) 221-3538 
E-mail: mtsherwm.edu 
6. How to submit, subscribe, or unsubscribe to AASWOMEN 
[Please remember to replace "" in the below e-mail addresses.] 
To submit to AASWOMEN: 
  send email to aaswomen.aas.org 
All material sent to that address will be posted unless you tell us 
otherwise (including your email address). 
To subscribe or unsubscribe to AASWOMEN 
  go to http://lists.aas.org/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/aaswomen 
and fill out the form. 
If you experience any problems, please email itdeptaas.org 
Message scanned for viruses and dangerous 
content by the AAS MailScanner, and is 
believed to be clean.