CSWA Logo AAS Logo


January 2005


Page 1: Beatrice Tinsley: A Tribute, by Robert C. Kennicutt, Jr.

Page 1: Nobel Prize for a "Computer" named Henrietta Leavitt (1868-1921), by Pangratios Papacosta

Page 9: What Works for Women in Undergraduate Physics? by Barbara L. Whitten, Suzanne R. Foster, and Margaret L. Duncombe

Page 15: Applying for Graduate School, by Fran Bagenal

Page 18: Women in Canadian Astronomy: A Ten Year Survey, by Mike Reid and Brenda Matthews

Page 21: Progress on Gender Equity at Nine Top Research Universities, by J. L. Sokolski

Page 23: Childcare of University of Arizona: Investing in the Future, bu Joannah Hinz and Jill Bechtold


Edited by Fran Bagenal (University of Colorado)

Associate Editors
Joannah Hinz (University of Arizona)
Patricia Knezek (WIYN Observatory)

Contributing Editor Meg Urry (Yale University)

Design by Krista Wildt (STScI)

Published by the American Astronomical Society
2000 Florida Avenue, NW, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20009
© 2004 AAS
All rights reserved.

STATUS is produced at the Space Telescope Science Institute
3700 San Martin Drive
Baltimore, MD 21218

Copyrights for contributed or reproduced material may rest with the author. These articles
reflect the opinions of the authors, which are not necessarily the opinions of the editors,
STScI or the AAS. STATUS is published for the personal use of AAS members.

The STATUS newsletter is distributed to AAS members at the January and June meetings and
sent to home institutions of subscribers during the week of the meeting. Contributed articles
are encouraged. Deadlines for submission are October 1 and March 1, respectively.

For more information on subscribing to STATUS, submitting articles or obtaining back issues,
please visit the STATUS website: http://www.aas.org/~cswa/status

AAS members may receive hard copy by sending their postal address to Dennis Renner, drenner@aas.org

Back to STATUS Table of Contents