HEAD High Energy Astrophysics Division

HEAD Prizes and Awards



is responsible for awarding three prizes.  The Rossi Prize, named after Bruno Rossi is awarded annually for "a significant contribution to High Energy Astrophysics, with particular emphasis on recent, original work." 


HEAD also awards the David N. Schramm Award for High Energy Astrophysics Journalism, named after David Schramm, every 18 months to recognize and stimulate distinguished writing on topics in high energy astrophysics in order to improve the general public’s understanding and appreciation of this exciting field of research.


HEAD awards a dissertation prize at the time of each HEAD division meeting (every 12-24 months) to recognize an outstanding new PhD dissertation in high energy astrophysics.


Bruno Rossi Prize

David Schramm Award

Dissertation Prize

Comments, questions, or feedback? Contact Us