HEAD High Energy Astrophysics Division

The David N. Schramm Award for
High Energy Astrophysics Science Journalism

The High-Energy Astrophysics Division of the American Astronomical Society (HEAD/AAS) is proud to announce the creation of a prize named after David N. Schramm to recognize and stimulate distinguished writing on high-energy astrophysics. The prize is established to improve the general public’s understanding of this exciting field of research.

The prize is awarded at every meeting of the High Energy Astrophysics Division of the American Astronomical Society.

The entries are judged by a committee of distinguished scientists and journalists selected by the Executive Committee of the High Energy Astrophysics Division. The decisions of the judging committee are final.

The winning author (or authors) will receive a prize of $1,500, and a plaque containing a citation. HEAD/AAS will pay the winning author’s personal and travel expenses so that the award can be received in person at the division’s meeting. The acceptance of the award implies a commitment of the winner(s) to come to receive the award in person. The publisher of the winning work will receive a certificate honoring the publication in which the work appeared.

Call for Submissions to the 10th David N. Schramm Science Journalism Award

The High Energy Astrophysics Division of the American Astronomical Society (HEAD/AAS) is soliciting nominations and submissions for the 10th David N. Schramm Award. Articles for this award must have been published between January 1, 2013, and May 8, 2014, and cover the topics of high-energy astrophysics, which incorporate experimental and theoretical studies of high-energy photons and particles from the cosmos, including the disciplines of X-ray, gamma-ray and cosmic-ray astronomy, as well as the study of gravitational waves.

All forms of science reporting—including blog entries, online-only articles, and other multimedia—will be considered. Each author may submit two separate pieces. Please note that this year, only electronic submissions will be accepted. Therefore, if only hard copies of articles exist, please have them scanned into an easy-to-read format such as pdf. All submissions must be emailed to Megan Watzke by the deadline above.The results will be announced on June 23, 2014.

List of past winners

Rules for the David N. Schramm Award

Deadline for receipt of the complete package is May 9, 2014.

Comments, questions, or feedback? Contact Us